How to Disable “Google Shared Endorsements” that Show Your Name and Photo in Google Ads

Google updated its Terms of Service with new “Google Shared Endorsements”, which may display your name and photo in Google Ads. Learn how to opt out and disable it for your Google+ account.

google shared endorsements
google shared endorsements

Google Terms of service has been updated. The new terms will go live on November 11, 2013. One of the three changes is the Google Shared Endorsements, here is an excerpt about how it works:

To ensure that your recommendations reach the people you care about, Google sometimes displays your reviews, recommendations and other relevant activity throughout its products and services. This sometimes includes shopping contexts, like the Google Play music store, and ads. Your profile name and photo may appear with the recommendation.

[Tweet “Your G+ profile name and photo may appear in Google Ads. But it’s easy to opt out.”]

How to opt out Google Shared Endorsements?

The good thing is that, which Google emphasize a lot, you are free to choose whether you want your name and photo appears in Google ads or not. And, it is very easy if you found the Shared Endorsements setting page.

Google Shared endorsements setting
Google Shared endorsements setting
  1. Login your Google account.
  2. Goto Shared Endorsements setting page. You will be asked to upgrade Google+ account, if you haven’t.
  3. Uncheck “Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads.”
  4. Click “Save” button and you’re done.

Hope this tip helps you to hide your name and photo in Google services and products. Please ask any question in the comment below.

Follow LiewCF Tech Blog on Google+

Share this:

Leave a Comment